Leave Mitt Romney alone !!!!

  • “As an ex-Mormon, Arizona Republic editorial cartoonist Steve Benson has strong opinions about current Mormon Mitt Romney [2008 Election Republican Presidential Candidate]. He said the Republican candidate’s recent speech on religion should not be trusted by media people and other Americans.” … “In his talk, Romney said “I believe in my Mormon faith” while also noting that the church’s “teachings” would not influence his decisions if elected president.” … “”Yeah, right,” responded Benson, adding that “Romney also believes in misrepresenting what his Mormon Church actually espouses.”” … “Benson is the grandson of former Mormon leader Ezra Taft Benson.” … “He told E&P that, in his view, a Mormon believer is required by church doctrine (as dictated by the church’s “living prophet”) to “obey God’s commands” over anything else. He said “Romney, like all ‘temple Mormons,’ made his secret vows using Masonic-derived handshakes, passwords, and symbolic death oaths that he promised in the temple never to reveal to the outside world” — and that Romney also secretly vowed to devote his “time, talents” and more “to the building of the Mormon religion on earth.”” … “”When Mitt says he belongs to a church that doesn’t tell him what to do, that’s false; it’s a 24/7, do-what-you’re-told-to-do church,” asserted Benson, who won the Pulitzer Prize for editorial cartooning in 1993.” –By Dave Astor
  • Advertisements

    2 Responses

    1. Hmmmm……I don’t care whose son Benson is – he really has missed the mark! I’m a mormon and believe me, you are freaking out about nothing. I would also like to clarify that I do whatever the heck I want – not what I’m ‘told’ to do. I am often just astonished at people’s incorrect perceptions and beliefs about the mormon church. I would also like to say, as one who has been to the temple many times, that it is incorrect to say that we make a covenant to build the mormon religion on earth. That’s just wrong. We committ to building the kingdom of God, as all Christians do. The temple ceremonies include people of all faiths and in my opinion is one of the most inclusive religions in the world. I wish that people didn’t fear having a mormon president. There truly is no need for that – unless of course that mormon happens to be Harry Reid

    2. Look at the second article in my blog. I live in Massachusetts and Romney is an absolute waste of time. Pick on him? He’s a vacuous self-absorbed fool. I’ll pick on him a lot because he is unfit for the presidency…

    Leave a Reply

